But is this what the users want?

I’ll admit it, I’m prepared to out myself, I’ve just finished a post graduate research degree and more than once I have used the Amazon book recommender. In fact when I say more than once, possibly over the course of my studies we’ll be getting into double figures. I’m not ashamed, (I may be about using Wikipedia, but let’s not go there), but I’m not ashamed because I did and so did many of my peers. There may be more traditional methods to conduct academic research, but sometimes, with a deadline looming and very little time for a physical trip to the library to speak to a librarian, finding resources in one or two clicks is just to attractive. My hunch is many other scholars also use this method to conduct research. Recently on another Copac project we facilitated some focus groups. The participants in the groups were postgraduate researchers, a mix of humanities and STEM. Some had used Copac before others had not. Although the focus groups were answering another hypothesis I couldn’t resist asking the gathered group, if they would find merit in a book recommender on Copac which was based on 10 years of library circulation data from a world class research library? It’s not often you see a group of students become visibly excited at the thought of a of new research tool, but they did that night. A book recommender, would make a positive impact on their research practices and was greeted with enthusiasm from the group. I thought it was worth mentioning this incident, because when the going gets tough, and we are drowning under data, it might be worth remembering that users really want this to happen.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

